Dubai Dhows 1

Dubai Dhows 1 - please click on the image to open

A painting of workers loading cargo onto the dhows on the Dubai Creek. This is in old Dubai close to the Spice Souk.

We are back from our visit in Dubai, where it was indeed very hot and humid, but we enjoyed ourselves and saw so much.
And enjoyed the time with our children and grandchildren.
It was a wonderful experience!

18 responses to “Dubai Dhows 1

  1. Welcome home!! I’m glad you had a wonderful trip. The painting is lovely. I like all the people you have in this one….awesome work!!. Also, you are as clever at painting sacks as you are at painting rocks! I love the painting!

    • Thanks Debbie for the welcome!! And thank you for your very kind comments! I really appreciate it. Maybe it is a good thing about the sacks….after all those rocks! Thanks!!

  2. Phenomenal! I love the color, the people and the story this piece prompts as it is full of activity! I can not even imagine how long it must have taken to digitally paint this. Another thing is that I love the bright light you retain in all your work. It really gives the feeling of being there, myself, in all that heat, Jan.
    Glad you had a lovely family visit in spite of the heat. 🙂

    • Hi Leslie, Thank you so much!! You always know how to make me feel good about the stuff I do. It took a while to digitally paint it, but who is complaining when you are having fun? I love the way you even put yourself into the painting!! Thanks!
      And it was very hot!!! and humid!!! You feel as if you are inside an oven and when you swim in the Persian Gulf it feels like a hot bath, but it was wonderful!

  3. The folds in the tarps and the shading of the sacks seem quite real. You’ve got quite a lot of nice detail in this one, Jan.

  4. Very Nice drawing 🙂

  5. Hi Julio. Thank you very much! I really appreciate it.

  6. this one is really good, ditto composition!

  7. I think this is one of my favorites. The colors are absolutely amazing, and you’ve captured such an interesting scene!

  8. The colours are fabulous Jan, especially in those blue sacks to the left. I love the activity in your work, it’s something I also like to try and capture, but never as well as you. Beautiful.

  9. Hi Keith, I am glad you like it. I had no activity in my sketches/paintings and it was Leslie who started talking about the people, etc. and I realized just how important that is. Thank you for your kind words about my stuff!

  10. You went to Dubai? How cool (or hot an humid!) LOL!
    This is beautiful. The colors are so bright and vivid and the composition is exciting.

  11. Thank you for your kind comment, Carol.
    I must say that Dubai is the coolest oven I’ve ever been in!

  12. I agree with all the above comments. Wonderful I too felt like I was there walking around feeling the busyness. Dubai from some of the pictures Ive see looks like a very interestin place to explore. I like your comment “I must say that Dubai is the coolest oven I’ve ever been in!”

    • Hi Starla, I am so glad to see that you are back!!! We also moved to a smaller place – a bit bigger than yours!
      Yes Dubai is quite a place….
      And life is ……..you know…
      All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

