The Burj Al Arab hotel, Dubai

Here I decided to try out another brush.

Burj Al Arab - please click on the image to open

20 responses to “The Burj Al Arab hotel, Dubai

  1. I so admire the details you have in this painting, Jan. The sand for example, it looks like I could just reach out on the screen and feel the texture of the sand. I love the whole painting!

    • Hi Debbie! Thank you so much!! You are very kind.
      I must say this new brush is a new experience for me, but I think I am going to use it a lot.

  2. Nice painting, Jan. Amazing texture. Did you survive the heat in Dubai? I hope so!

    • Hi Kathy! Thank you for your kind comment.
      Yes I did survive the heat….I did a few crazy and maybe stupid things, but I did survive. It is almost as if you are in an oven! Some people leave their parked cars running, to keep the air conditioning on for when they come back. But it was wonderful – I want to go back! So much more to see and experience.

  3. I love the texture and composition of your painting. Did you like your trip? What did you find the most amazing? Apart the luxury…

    • Thank you, Anne, so much for your very kind comment!!
      We really enjoyed the trip and enjoyed our time with the children and grandchildren there.
      The most amazing was standing on the 124th floor of the Burj Khalifa building at night and looking down on Dubai with it’s millions and millions of lights – what a sight!!!! It is the highest structure in the world and has 160 floors. Equal to that is the Music Fountain at the foot of the building and in front of the Dubai Mall – When we sat down to eat our dinner outside a restaurant there the Music Fountain started playing “The Magnificent Seven” – it gave me the goosebumps – so beautiful!!!! There are lots of other amazing things, but I will stop there. Enjoy your week.

  4. You are really accomplishing a painterly style with these, Jan. Awesome!!!!!

  5. I’ll echo some of the other commenters here and say I also love the texture and composition. There’s something about the sand especially that really jumps out with your choice of brush.

  6. The Burj Al Arab is such a unique building. I like the texture you have in the sand and the sky. It looks like you can see the heat rising.

    • It is very unique and something to see! You can see the heat – it was hot, hot, hot and humid!
      Thank you for your comment.

  7. Did you stay here? I really, really like the brush strokes in this one. The sky reminds me of a Van Gogh.

  8. No, Carol, We stayed with our kids.
    The Burj Al Arab is very, very expensive – it is a 7 star hotel and that I cannot afford…..
    And thank you for your kind words about the painting!!

  9. Hi Jan –

    I haven’t stopped by for a while and WOW…I love your paintings! Especially this one…Saying hello from USA…Sherry

    • Hi Sherry,
      I moved house and was away from blogging for a while.
      It is so good to hear from you again!
      Hope you are doing well.
      And thank you so much for your very kind words. 🙂
      Jan

Leave a comment